Invited Users FAQ
How are invited users created?
Invited users are created when their email addresses are added as respondents on an assessment.
Why can an invited user display a first and last name when I entered only an email address?
When an invited user is created with an email address that is already associated with user identity information in another OneTrust account in the same environment, the platform may use the existing first- and last-name values for that user. Account data remains separate, but identity information associated with the email address may be available across the associated accounts. If first- and last-name values are not available for the email address, the platform uses the available username or email address according to the account’s user-creation behavior.
What should I check before deleting an inactive invited user?
Before deleting an inactive invited user, coordinate with the administrators of every associated OneTrust account. Confirm which user record is being removed, whether the user is still needed in another account, and whether the selected deletion option preserves or anonymizes the user’s name for audit purposes.
What can an invited user do?
Invited users have minimal access to the platform. They can only access assessments for which they have been assigned as respondents. Invited users can also be assigned subtasks, tasks, and risks.
How do invited users access their assigned assessments?
Invited users receive a unique dynamic link via email when they are assigned an assessment. They use this link to access the assessment without having to log in to OneTrust.
When an invited user clicks the unique link they receive, what do they see?
Invited users will be redirected to the OneTrust Platform and required to complete a CAPTCHA security measure. If the Turn on OTP verification for invited users setting is enabled for the account, they will then be prompted to enter a One-Time Password (OTP). The OTP will be sent to the email address specified in the Respondent(s) field for that assessment. For more information, see One-Time Password for Invited Users.
How long does a unique link work?
The unique link expires after 365 days. If the assessment moves to the Under Review stage, it is no longer accessible through the unique link.
Can the unique link be forwarded to others?
The assessment link should not be forwarded. To include additional respondents, the creator of the assessment should explicitly add any additional individuals as a respondent on the assessment by editing the Respondent(s) field for that assessment within the platform. If the User Respondent Delegation setting is enabled for the related assessment template, then existing respondents can also explicitly add any additional individuals as a respondent on the assessment by editing the Respondent(s) field for that assessment within the platform.
Can I share an assessment with an assigned user instead of assigning the assessment?
Yes, you can share assessments with invited users, but the assessment will be available as read-only.
Can invited users get access to OneTrust without using a unique link (e.g., with a username and password or with SSO)?
No, invited users cannot log in via SSO or using a OneTrust username and password. They do not have OneTrust accounts.
Does verifying an invited user's email domain in SSO settings affect their access?
No, verifying an invited user's email domain in your SSO settings does not affect invited users. They can still access the assessments assigned to them using the unique links they received via email and will not be prompted to log in via SSO.
Can invited users receive reports (for example, if one is triggered through an automation rule)?
No. A username and password is required to access reports. Because an invited user does not have a username or password to log in, they cannot receive reports.
How can I reconfigure an existing user to solely have the Invited User role?
Complete the following steps to reconfigure an existing user to solely have the Invited User role:
-
Within Global Settings, navigate to the Users screen, and delete the existing user to remove any existing roles assigned to them. Then navigate to the User settings screen and ensure that the Allow Creating Invited Users setting is enabled.
-
Within PIA & DPIA Automation, navigate to the necessary assessment, click the Context Menu button, and select Edit Details. In the Respondent(s) section, enter the user's email address, and click the Save button.
-
On the Unrecognized Respondents modal that appears, select the Send the link (no sign-in required) option, and click the Confirm button. This will create the user as an invited user in the platform.
What assessment metadata is visible to invited users?
The metadata visible to invited users depends on their permissions.
With a standard invited user role, the user will have basic access. If you want to give the invited user expanded access to your assessments metadata, you can create a custom copy of the Invited User role and add the Advanced Assessment Metadata permission to the role.
For more information, see Creating and Editing Custom Roles.
Metadata Visibility for Invited Users
|
Metadata |
Basic access |
Advanced access |
|---|---|---|
|
Assessment Metadata Pane |
||
|
Basic Information |
||
|
Name |
|
|
|
Organization |
|
|
|
Template |
|
|
|
Workflows |
|
|
|
Description |
|
|
|
Deadline |
|
|
|
Reminder |
|
|
|
Send Email to |
|
|
|
Primary record |
|
|
|
Tags |
|
|
|
Workflow approvers |
||
|
Approver(s) |
|
|
|
Comments |
|
|
|
Participants |
||
|
Respondent(s) Only respondent is editable via invited user based on setting (Respondent delegation) |
|
|
|
Comments |
|
|
|
Additional information |
||
|
ID |
|
|
|
Stage |
|
|
|
Stage details (workflow status bar) |
|
|
|
Result |
|
|
|
Result Comments |
|
|
|
Date Created |
|
|
|
Creator |
|
|
|
Template Version |
|
|
|
Question Labels |
|
|
|
Residual Risk Score |
|
|
|
Open Risk Count |
|
|
|
Open Info Request Count |
|
|
|
Inherent Risk Score |
|
|
|
Target Risk Score |
|
|
|
Assessments list screen |
||
|
ID |
Invited users do not have access to the Assessments list screen. |
|
|
Name |
|
|
|
Stage |
|
|
|
Result |
|
|
|
Residual risk score |
|
|
|
Organization |
|
|
|
Respondent |
|
|
|
Approver |
|
|
|
Deadline |
|
|
|
Open info request count |
|
|
|
Open risk count |
|
|
|
Tags |
|
|
|
Open issue count |
|
|
|
Workflows |
|
|
|
Template |
|
|
|
Creator |
|
|
|
Date created |
|
|
|
Date completed |
|
|
|
Date submitted |
|
|
|
Primary record name |
|
|
|
Primary record id |
|
|
|
Pending reviews |
|
|
|
Template version |
|
|
|
Approval stage |
|
|
|
Inherent risk score |
|
|
|
Target risk score |
|
|
Can I limit what an invited user sees in inventory drop-down questions?
Yes. Admins can enable the Access control override for invited user inventory drop-down visibility setting to prevent invited users from accessing inventory drop-down data in assessments.
When the setting is disabled, which is the default behavior, invited users can continue to view and select inventory records from drop-down fields in assessments.
When the setting is enabled, invited users can still answer assessment questions, but inventory drop-down questions that require selecting inventory records from a list are not available to them. This applies to Processing activities, Assets, Vendors, and Entities.
The Access control override for invited user inventory drop-down visibility setting is available in Data Mapping Automation and Third-Party Risk Management.